lunes, 11 de octubre de 2010

Sweet Salvation - Sweet Salvation (1972)(Funk, Soul, R&B)

Kikas envia:
Acá va un grupo, muy poco conocido, pero que me gusta mogollón ... mezcla de Soul, Gospel, Funk con algo de Swamp ... ripeo de CD @wav con ArtWork del CD a 600ppp, y ArtWork del vinilo.

A1 Do A Number
A2 Ain't Nobody's Fault But Your Own
A3 I Just Find Myself Falling
A4 Who's A Blue
A5 Sail Away

B1 Carry Me Home
B2 Have You Ever Had The Blues
B3 Stick With Me
B4 Keep On Pushin'
B5 Rock Steady

Wayne DeVillier (vocals, keyboards)
John Evans Thomassie (vocals, drums)
DeEtta Little (vocals)
Fritz Baskett (vocals)
Don Normand (guitar)
Alexander Smith, Jr (bass)

Reseña pillada de Amazon, de Adam Holzman :

"Led by long-established New Orleans musicians drummer “Big John” John Thomassie, keyboard player Wayne DeVillier and guitarist Don Normand, Sweet Salvation could have been one of the all-time great r&b/funk/rock/gospel bands. Unfortunately due to business mis-steps and bad timing it was not meant to be. Also featuring 2 great women singers, DeEtta Little and Fritz Basket, and Alex Smith on bass, Sweet Salvation covered ground that includes New Orleans second line, blues, r&b, rock and 70’s funk. They were very much connected to Allen Toussaint and the Meters, but maybe heavier in sound and style, closer to rock.
The album “Sweet Salvation” also features 2 great cover tracks, very elaborate and creative arrangements of Randy Newman’s “Sail Away” and Aretha Franklin’s “Rock Steady“. “Sweet Salvation” also delivers some first-rate original tunes in what could have led to a powerful and unique style. It’s great to hear rock-solid r & b and second line grooves combined with Devillier’s brilliant and virtuosic piano playing, which is beautifully recorded (loud and thick sounding, not too bright) and is the backbone of the band’s sound. I know this record from the original vinyl, and I am glad to see that it has finally came out on CD!"